← Leading-Edge Digital
SMIC (advanced-node scope)
Shanghai, China
Company Overview
- Headquarters
- Shanghai, China
- Ownership
- Public (HKEX: 0981 / SSE: 688981); state-linked strategic shareholders
- Leading-Edge Fab Locations
- Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Shenzhen fabs. Acquisition of Semiconductor Manufacturing North China (SMNC, Beijing, two 300mm lines) completed June 2026 — SMIC issued ~547M shares (~US$6B) for the remaining 49%, giving 100% ownership
- Wafer Size
- 300mm
- Most Recent Revenue
- Q4 2025 foundry revenue $2.5B, up from $1.5B Q4 2022 (+71% over that period); global foundry market share 5.1-5.32%
- Employees
- ~25,941 (2025), ~95% China-based
- Major Segments
- Domestic Chinese smartphone/AI (Huawei), industrial
- Long-Term Strategy
- Capacity for its most advanced nodes (N+1/N+2/N+3, ~7nm-equivalent via DUV multi-patterning) is reported to be rationed by Beijing to prioritize Huawei; no EUV access under current export controls caps further density scaling; growing via the SMNC acquisition
Process Technologies
No named process technologies recorded for this foundry yet.
Absence here means the process list has not been researched, not that the foundry offers none.
Technology Portfolio
- Most Advanced Node in HVM (mid-2026)
- N+1/N+2 (~7nm-class via DUV multi-patterning) — unofficial naming, not TSMC/Samsung/Intel-comparable. 5nm reportedly in development (~20% yield), not in mass production as of mid-2026
- Node Range Offered (≤22nm)
- 14nm FinFET → N+1 → N+2 → N+3
- Transistor Architecture
- FinFET (no GAA disclosed)
- Backside Power Delivery
- No
- In-House Advanced Packaging
- Limited — routed through domestic OSAT (JCET and others)
- HBM Integration Support
- Limited/unconfirmed
- Automotive/Defense-Qualified Advanced Node
- Limited
- Reported Yield (Most Advanced Node)
- Not publicly disclosed for advanced nodes
- Reported Density (Most Advanced Node)
- Capped well below EUV-node peers by DUV multi-patterning limits
- Next-Node Roadmap
- Constrained by lack of EUV access under export controls; no credible public roadmap below N+3 at present
Manufacturing Capability
- Qualified Leading-Edge Fabs
- Multiple (Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Shenzhen) + SMNC (Beijing, acquiring)
- Multi-Site Technology Transfer
- Yes, internally, within China
- Automotive/Defense Production
- Limited — primarily domestic Chinese consumer/AI (Huawei), not automotive/defense in the Western regulatory sense
- IATF 16949
- Verify
- Other Certifications
- Verify
- Export Restriction Status
- On US BIS Entity List; EUV lithography export banned (Netherlands/US-aligned enforcement); advanced DUV scanners license-required; capacity reported rationed by Beijing toward Huawei
Capacity & Supply Chain
- Backlog / Lead Time
- Capacity for the most advanced nodes reported rationed by Beijing to prioritize Huawei — a political allocation constraint, not a pure market lead-time signal
- Utilization & Yield Maturity
- High utilization where prioritized; overall advanced-node yield not publicly disclosed
- Expansion Plans
- Acquiring Semiconductor Manufacturing North China (SMNC, Beijing) for two additional 300mm lines
- Geographic Redundancy
- Limited — concentrated in China (Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Shenzhen)
- Single-Site Concentration Risk
- High — single-jurisdiction concentration compounded by export-controlled tool access limiting expansion pace
- Natural Disaster Exposure
- Low-moderate seismic risk in most China fab locations
Fabs & Geopolitical Risk
| Fab Site | Country | US Import Tariff | Considerations | Risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, Shenzhen + SMNC (Beijing, acquisition completed June 2026) | China | Not recorded | On US BIS Entity List; EUV export banned outright (Netherlands/US-aligned enforcement); advanced DUV scanners require individual licenses; capacity reported rationed by Beijing toward Huawei | Severe |
Cost & Commercial
- Approx. 300mm Wafer Price (Most Advanced Node)
- Not detailed for advanced nodes in current source set — SMIC's disclosed pricing advantage (20-40% below Taiwanese peers) is documented for mature nodes, not confirmed for N+2/N+3
- Approx. Mask Set Cost (Most Advanced Node)
- Not detailed for advanced nodes in current source set
- Approx. Full Tapeout Cost (Design + Mask + NRE)
- Not detailed for advanced nodes in current source set
- MPW / Small-Program Access
- Effectively none for non-Chinese customers — capacity is reported rationed toward Huawei by Beijing
- Pricing Position
- Domestic-strategic rather than globally commercial at this tier — pricing is not the primary lever; allocation/access is
- Packaging Cost Add-On (CoWoS/HBM-Class)
- Limited — routed through domestic OSAT partners (JCET and others), not independently benchmarked
Ecosystem
- Cadence
- Yes, where export-control compliant
- Synopsys
- Yes, where export-control compliant
- Siemens EDA (Calibre)
- Yes, where export-control compliant
- Own Ecosystem Program
- Primarily domestic Chinese design-service ecosystem
- IP Vendor Relationships
- Primarily domestic Chinese IP vendors; access to top-tier Western IP is compliance-gated
- Advanced Packaging Partners
- Primarily domestic Chinese OSAT (JCET and others)
- Notable Ecosystem Note
- The 2025 BIS EDA export-control episode (Synopsys/Cadence/Siemens directed to halt China sales, then partially reversed) is a direct, ongoing risk to this company's design-tool access
